Sleeveless Armscye Template

When I’m watching Peggy Sagers on YouTube, I know part of the reason she can go so fast, can be so successful with her sewing, is because she has already followed her own advice. Peggy already has templates for  important to fit pieces like armscyes and sleeves. I’ve just got my first armscye template. Yep B6299 gave me a sleeveless armscye template that I am 100% happy about. I can finally tell Peggy (or anyone) that I like a 20″ sleeveless armscye. THIS is my favorite. The 20″ armscye  is perfect for my body.

However, it was drafted in 4 pieces: front, side front, back, side back. Once my Linen 6299 was sewn and fitted, I took the time to carefully copy the armscye and create a 2 piece template.  I think my ironing board provided the best support for these small, curved pieces.

Before finishing the armscye, I placed a large scrap of tracing material on my ironing board; then secured my armscye on top.  I carefully  traced  the back armscye.

Added seam allowances; 2″ depth; and marked everything I could think of (seam allowances, back, front, pattern number. Repeat for front half; trim excess tracing material.

I can repeat this armscye over and over and over, Every time/any time I want a sleeveless armscye, I’ve got MY perfect one.

 

6 thoughts on “Sleeveless Armscye Template

  1. Peggy does make that almost mandatory! I gotta get it done! That’s one of my main fitting challenges for sure. Your top looks great!

    Like

    1. Cherie
      I think she is right about having the templates, but it is harder then she makes it sound to actually create your personal templates. All I can say, is keep working at it.

      Like

  2. Congratulation! I also have my armscye templates. I have sleevless/knit & woven (blouse), it makes pattern fitting so much easier & faster now. I am currently working on a jacket armscye template. Wish me luck!

    Like

Comment?

