Stripes

For years and years, I’ve been collecting pics with interesting uses of stripes. I collect but never use. I decided this would a great time for a fun project. I grabbed a polyester, double-knit striped fabric I liked and my knit block. Then hunted through the inspiration files settling on this one

2012-12-15-14-58-490080_resize

I have no idea where this came from just that I always thought it an unusual but interesting stripe blouse. I noted that it would be easy to adapt my basic block. I copied my front block and turned that into a full front piece.  Then I estimated the proportions of the stripe portions. Didn’t really measure; used the old pinch and gestimate.  I estimated that the side front was 1/3 the width and the horizontal-striped bottom piece was 1/5 the length.   The lower sleeve appeared to be about the same as the bottom horizontal-striped piece. I drew my estimated lines on the full front copy of my block. Added notches and numbered so I would remember the sewing order.

dscn6473_resize

I thought this would be a one-off i.e one and done. So when I slashed my tissue, I did not add seam allowances.

dscn6475_resize

But I did indicate on the tissue where and how wide the seam allowances were needed.

Except for the sleeve

dscn6477_resize

I slashed the sleeve and added seam allowances because I can see using this sleeve multiple times. I slashed from hem upwards and spread so that I would have a flounce. You know, make that seam have a purpose other than just joining the two pieces together.

When I laid out the tissue on the fabric, I used a disappearing marker to add the seam allowances before cutting. This was really simple and fun sewing. Most of my time was spent in creating the pattern. Because I numbered the pieces, I had no problem sewing them in the correct order i.e. no awkward seam joinings. The back, BTW, was just plain other than cut cross grain so the stripe would be vertical instead of horizontal.

I had planned a narrow turned hem but after sewing the seams together realized a narrow hem would be bulky and amateurish. I reached out to SG for suggestions.  I dislike unfinished edges. I even serge finished the sides seams of this double-knit, just because. After carefully considering and doing a few tests, I decided to use a flat serged edge using YLK Perle cotton on the public side

 

dscn6492_resize

and

.dscn6494_resize

Maxiloc Signature variegated on the inside. Finish seen below also includes the chain I add to the back hem.

dscn6495_resize
Top Perle Cotton, Bottom MaxiLock Signature and chain

Why Chain? Because I find that a little weight helps my back pieces hang better.

Unfortunately I made one big error. My biggest foible:  pattern/fabric mismatch. The fabric has 20% stretch and I assumed my knit block would be the best starting point.  However it has excellent recovery. Indeed resists being stretched. So when finished, my garment is too small.

dscn6500_resize dscn6501_resize dscn6504_resize

I’m just not going to wear this.  Hope somebody who regularly shops the Goodwill appreciates this lovely new addition to their wardrobe.

3 thoughts on “Stripes

  1. I love your concept choice, of the stripes going in all directions, and share your disappointment at the too small result. Perhaps using this style but with a basic woven block instead?? Also, I was curious, I understand why you put a chain in the hemline, but do you find that the chain affects how the garments go through the washer and the dryer? or do you not machine wash your tops, but handwash or dryclean? (somehow I doubt that) I have been struggling with my summer dresses not staying level as sewn, but have been loath to try weighting their hems, because of fear of it damaging the fabric or washer when I launder them

    Like

Comment?

